The Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) is a certificate that demonstrates significant achievement over Years 11 and 12.

The WACE Requirements

Achievement of the WACE acknowledges that at the end of compulsory schooling the student has achieved or exceeded the required minimum standards in an educational program that has suitable breadth and depth.

From 2016, to achieve a WACE, a student must satisfy the following:

General requirements
  • Demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy and a minimum standard of numeracy.
  • Complete a minimum of 20 units or equivalents as described below.
  • Complete at least four Year 12 ATAR courses or complete* a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification. Note: the partial completion of a Certificate III or higher VET qualification may meet this requirement according to predetermined criteria (see Section 4). * Note: In the context of VET in the WACE, the term ‘complete’ requires that a student has been deemed competent in all units that make up a full qualification.
Breadth and depth

Students will complete a minimum of 20 course units or the equivalent. This requirement must include at least:

  • a minimum of 10 Year 12 units or the equivalent
  • two completed Year 11 English units and one pair of completed Year 12 English units
  • one pair of Year 12 course units from each of List A (arts, languages, social sciences) and List B (mathematics, science, technology).
Achievement standard

Students will be required to achieve 14 C grades (or equivalents, see below) in Year 11 and Year 12 units, including at least six C grades in Year 12 units (or equivalents).

Unit equivalence can be obtained through Vocational Education and Training (VET) programs and/or endorsed programs.  The maximum unit equivalence available through these programs is eight units – four Year 11 units and four Year 12 units.  Students may obtain unit equivalence as follows:

  • up to eight unit equivalents through completion of VET programs, or
  • up to four unit equivalents through completion of endorsed programs, or
  • up to eight unit equivalents through a combination of VET and endorsed programs, but with endorsed programs contributing no more than four unit equivalents.

The amount of unit equivalence allocated to VET and endorsed programs is as follows:

  • VET qualifications
  • Certificate I is equivalent to two Year 11 units
  • Certificate II is equivalent to two Year 11 and two Year 12 units
  • Certificate III or higher is equivalent to two Year 11 and four Year 12 units
  • a partially completed Certificate III or higher is equivalent to two Year 11 and two Year 12 units (credit only allocated if the criteria for partial completion is met).

For endorsed programs, unit equivalence is identified on the Authority’s approved list of endorsed programs.

The Western Australian Statement of Student Achievement (WASSA)

A WASSA is issued to all Year 12 students who complete any study that contributes towards a WACE.  It lists all courses and programs students have completed in Year 11 and 12.

This information is collected from the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) website and is up to date at 21 November 2016.

Please refer to the SCSA website for up to date and further information.